Wild Berry Corn Muffins

Blueberry Muffin Recipe from Scratch

There’s nothing quite like a fresh muffin straight from the oven in the morning, especially if that muffin has fresh berries in it! I love using what’s in season, but I also love having a good supply of frozen berries on hand year round. Blueberries and strawberries are a staple in my daily routine and they provide a lot of important nutrients to keep our skin glowing and healthy! I do my best to grow as much as I can in my own garden in the summer months, and then I purchase them from a local producer at my neighborhood co-op.

This recipe was inspired by what I had in my cupboard, or rather, what I did not have. I love creating recipes this way, it’s amazing to see what I can make out of next to nothing! I had a half bag of Bob’s Cornmeal leftover from thanksgiving, and I was out of raw sugar, so I opted to use maple syrup as the sweetener.  You can choose to use any berries in this recipe, or peaches would also be an incredible substitute here!

Note: I do not always use organic! I go by the philosophy of its best not to beat yourself up over your lack of availability to something. I do the best that I can in the moment and strive to always do better. Applying mindfulness to the thoughts we are consuming while we are eating, and cooking is important! You want to be adding love to your diet, not guilt, regret, or punishment. So don’t forget to add your secret ingredient to your recipe.

A recipe has no soul, you as the cook must bring soul to the recipe”  ~Thomas Keller

 

2 1/2 Cups Unbleached Flour (Preferably Organic)

1 1/2 Cups Bob’s Organic Cornmeal

1 Tbsp Baking Powder

1/2 Tbsp. Baking Soda

Pinch of Salt

2 Eggs

1 Cup Half n Half (Preferably Organic)

1/2 Cup Maple Syrup

1 Tsp. Vanilla

1 Cup frozen Wild Blueberries

1 Cup Frozen Wild Strawberries Sliced

(or 2 cups -fruit of your choice:)

Blend the dry ingredients first in a large mixing bowl, and set aside. Next, beat your eggs and vanilla together and alternating with the half and half begin to add this to the dry ingredients. Next ,pour in your maple syrup and add your frozen berries gently folding into the batter until incorporated. Don’t over mix! Spoon your batter into your muffin tins and bake for 25 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

