Spanakopita with Garden-Fresh Spinach

I love cooking healthy recipes in my kitchen and I do my best to use the freshest ingredients whenever possible. If I don’t have it growing in my winter garden, I source my ingredients through local organic, or conventional producers.

This spanakopita recipe is easy to make and packed with nutritional value. The leafy greens used in this recipe are high in antioxidants, vitamins A, C, K, and loads of calcium! One cup of leafy greens contains enough calcium to meet your daily nutritional requirements, as well as prevent heart disease, and osteoporosis. I used spinach & onions that were fresh my garden greenhouse. Having a green house in my backyard is very convenient and allows me to keep my vegetable garden growing in the winter months.

You can choose spinach as I did in my spanakopita recipe, or you can try making it with Kale, Chard, or mustard greens. All of these taste fantastic, but with this post I chose to go for a traditional spanakopita recipe. If you have any questions feel free to leave a comment below and don’t forget to use the secret ingredient ~ LOVE.

Ingredients   (See Images Below)

Preheat your oven to 375˚ degrees.

  • 2 (lb) bunches of spinach or leafy greens of your choice
  • 1 cup dill minced
  • 1 lb feta cheese
  • a couple of “glugs” of good olive oil (or 1/2 cup butter)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cloves of garlic crushed
  • 1 diced yellow onion
  • 1 package of phyllo dough (you can find spelt & gluten free varieties at Whole Food
  • salt & pepper to taste

Now it’s time to prepare your phyllo dough.  Lay the dough alongside your 8″x 14″ inch baking pan which you have oiled with a bit of olive oil. I use my hands when handling and oiling of the dough as I find it works best, adds that little extra bit of love to the dish. Rub a little olive oil on your hands and then rub it on the dough as you began layering it in your pan (this helps to keep the dough from breaking). Layer 6 leaves of dough allowing the edges to hang over the sides of the pan, next add your filling to the pan and then add another 6-10 leaves on top of the filling. Roll the edges inside the pan using a little more oil (this helps to make it nice and crispy when it bakes). Now slice it into 4 inch squares prior to baking (this helps to keep it from falling apart when it comes out of the oven).

Bake for 25 minutes, or until golden brown and then allow to set for 10 minutes. Enjoy!

Garden Fresh Spinach from my Greenhouse
Rinse your spinach well, chop, and then squeeze dry in a colander.

 

Vantage Points (5)
Next, add your garlic, onion, dill, salt & pepper.
Vantage Points (3)
Add the feta cheese.
Vantage Points (4)
Beat eggs in separate bowl.
Vantage Points (6)
Add the eggs to your spinach mixture and mix well.
Vantage Points (8)
Prepare your Phyllo dough. Brushing each layer with oil or butter.
Vantage Points (7)
Place filling on layers (6-10 sheets), and layer another 6-10 on top.
Vantage Points (12)
Now brush with butter or oil & slice into 4 inch squares.
Vantage Points (9)
Yummm! Let sit 10 minutes to set and Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

